The majority voted in favour of amendment (1) on sheet 1066, which was moved by NSW Senator Mehreen Faruqi (Greens). This means it failed.

What did this amendment do?

Senator Faruqi explained that:

As the bill currently stands, there is no dispute resolution process for resolving issues relating to the JobMaker hiring credit. Those issues include workers who might be fired, for instance, or who have their hours reduced. This will leave workers without access to necessary protections.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, page 3 (before line 27), before item 5, insert:

4C Before section 8


7C Requirements for rules that provide for jobmaker hiring credit scheme—ineligibility for firing employees etc. to obtain payments

(1) This section applies if rules are made for the purposes of subsection 7(1A) that provide for a kind of payment known as the jobmaker hiring credit.

(2) The rules must provide that if:

(a) an entity terminates the employment, or reduces the ordinary hours of work, of an existing employee of the entity; and

(b) a purpose of doing so (whether or not the sole or dominant purpose) is any of the following:

(i) to engage one or more other employees in respect of whom the entity can claim the payment;

(ii) to facilitate an associated entity (within the meaning of the Corporations Act 2001) of the entity engaging one or more other employees in respect of whom the associated entity can claim the payment;

(iii) to otherwise enable the entity or associated entity to be eligible for the payment or increase the amount of the payment to which the entity or associated entity is entitled;

then the entity, and the associated entity (if any), are not eligible for the payment in respect of any employees.

(3) To avoid doubt, this section and rules made for the purposes of this section do not limit the Commissioner's powers under section 19 (contrived schemes).

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance No
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (77% turnout) 30 Yes – 28 No