The majority voted in favour of an amendment introduced by West Australian Senator Louise Pratt (Labor), which means it was successful.

Senator Pratt explained that her amendment:

requires reporting on the scheme to happen quarterly. Here we really want to be able to see the number of entities that have received payments, the number of employees, the total payroll and a comparison of the amounts that have been paid, and we want to be able to see those things across different regions.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, page 3 (after line 26), after item 4, insert:

4A After section 7


7A Requirements for rules that provide for jobmaker hiring credit scheme—reporting of aggregated scheme information

(1) This section applies if rules are made for the purposes of subsection 7(1A) that provide for a kind of payment known as the jobmaker hiring credit.

(2) The rules must require the Commissioner to make publicly available as soon as practicable after the end of each quarter the following aggregated information in relation to entities receiving payments under the scheme for the jobmaker hiring credit:

(a) the number of entities that received payments under the scheme during the quarter;

(b) the number of employees employed by the entities at the end of the quarter;

(c) the total payroll of all the entities for the quarter;

(d) a comparison of the amounts in paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) with the amounts for the previous quarter.

(3) Rules made for the purposes of subsection (2) must also provide for reporting of that information aggregated across different sizes of businesses and across different regions of Australia.

(4) In this section:

quarter means a period of 3 months ending on 31 March, 30 June, 30 September or 31 December.

What does the bill do?

According to the bills digest:

The purpose of the Economic Recovery Package (JobMaker Hiring Credit) Amendment Bill 2020 (the Bill) is to amend the Coronavirus Economic Response Package (Payments and Benefits) Act 2020 (the Payments and Benefits Act) to enable payments to be made to help improve people’s prospects of gaining paid employment or to increase workforce participation, between 7 October 2020 and 6 October 2022.

The Bill also allows for the establishment of a scheme related to one or more of the payments intended to help improve people’s prospects of gaining paid employment or increasing workforce participation.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (80% turnout) 32 Yes – 28 No