The majority voted against an amendment introduced by NSW Senator Mehreen Faruqi (Greens), which means it failed.

What does this amendment do?

Senator Faruqi explained that:

We are moving this amendment because there is nothing in this bill that stops companies paying increased dividends during the pandemic while receiving JobKeeper. These companies will be allowed to use and abuse public money in the same way under the JobMaker hiring credit scheme. That is just obscene. This amendment will make sure that businesses who have paid increased dividends from 1 March 2020 through to the end of the scheme, which is currently 6 October 2022, will be ineligible for the JobMaker hiring credit, because they should be. It is public money in this scheme that is being used to provide employment—insecure, I might add, and precarious employment—to people, but public money should in no way be abused in this obscene way, where shareholders get dividends for it. I commend this amendment to the Senate.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1 , page 3 (before line 27) , before item 5 , insert:

4B After section 7


7B Requirements for rules that provide for jobmaker hiring credit scheme—ineligibility for paying increased dividends

(1) This section applies if rules are made for the purposes of subsection 7(1A) that provide for a kind of payment known as the jobmaker hiring credit.

(2) The rules must provide that an entity is not eligible for the payment at any time during the relevant period if:

(a) during the period beginning on 1 March 2020 and ending at the end of the relevant period the entity pays dividends to shareholders of the entity; and

(b) the Commissioner is satisfied that the amount of the dividend exceeds the amount of the last such payment made by the entity.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (16% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Nita Green Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (59% turnout) 9 Yes – 35 No