The majority voted against amendments introduced by South Australian Senator Rex Patrick (Independent), which means they failed.

What does the amendment do?

Senator Patrick explained that:

These amendments seek to undo what is becoming an awful trend in respect of legislation that is being brought into this chamber. As I said in my speech on the second reading yesterday, the government has put forward a bill to the parliament that basically has two substantive paragraphs. And those substantive paragraphs seek to grant a power for a minister to set up a scheme that involves the expenditure of somewhere up to $4 billion of taxpayers' money. All of the details of how that money will be spent, who will be in receipt of it and so forth will actually be contained in the rules generated by some faceless official somewhere in the government. The way this is supposed to work is we're supposed to put legislation on the table and have it be debated, contested, talked about openly and voted upon openly so that the people who we represent can hold us to account. But that is not what will happen in relation to this particular bill, because all of the details are in the rules.

The strange thing is: the rules are available. In fact, that's exactly what I've done with this amendment—I've taken the rules and put them into the bill, as should be the case.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (16% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (59% turnout) 9 Yes – 35 No