The majority voted against amendments introduced by ACT Senator David Pocock (Independent), which means they failed.

What is the amendment?

Senator Pocock explained that the amendment relates to ARENA:

The first amendment requires that the annual climate change statement address Australia's progress in reducing scope 3 emissions, which we know dwarf our domestic emissions. Fossil fuel exports account for more than double our direct emissions. If we are to take climate change seriously and commit to climate action we have to reduce the source of the majority of our emissions, which is exports. I'm not saying we shut it down overnight; I'm simply saying we don't open up new projects.

The second amendment requires that the Climate Change Authority consider the best available scientific knowledge in advice on emission reduction targets. We have ignored scientists for far too long. Science has to guide our policies on climate, and it makes sense to me that any advice given to the minister would be based on the best available scientific evidence that we have, given the wealth of knowledge in the scientific community, including a number of pre-eminent climate scientists across Australia and in the ACT.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 12, page 7 (line 24), at the end of subclause (1), add:

; and (g) the progress made during the year towards reducing Australia's scope 3 emissions of greenhouse gas.

(2) Clause 15, page 11 (after line 2), after subclause (3A), insert:

(3B) The advice given under subsection (1) must include an explanation of how the Climate Change Authority has taken into account the best available scientific knowledge for the purposes of giving the advice.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (82% turnout) 15 Yes – 47 No