The majority voted against amendments introduced by ACT Senator David Pocock (Independent), which means they were successful and will now form part of the bills. Once the bills in their new form are passed in the Senate, they will return to the House of Representatives for their agreement.

What are the amendments?

Senator Pocock explained that:

The first amendment on sheet 1621 requires that the annual climate change statement consider the risks presented by climate change. Climate change presents unparalleled risks to the systems that support life on this planet and all the people and places we love, including the future of the young people observing us today.


Amendments (2) and (3) on sheet 1621 require that there is public consultation before the annual statement on climate change. These amendments will allow the scientific community and the broader Australian community to make clear the risks of inaction and the benefits of action.

Amendments (4) and (5) on sheet 1621 require advice from the Climate Change Authority be made public before or at the same time as the annual statement on climate change. The explanatory memorandum to this bill uses the words 'accountability' and 'transparency' 18 times. This amendment means that if advice is not accepted, the government can be called out. This is fundamental to transparency and accountability.

The amendment on sheet 1620 relates to ARENA. During the inquiry into the bill, concerns were raised in relation to the scope for ARENA to fund non-renewable energy sources and other problematic technologies. This amendment closes potential loopholes that could allow ARENA to fund such technologies.

Amendment text


(1) Clause 12, page 7 (line 24), at the end of subclause (1), add:

; and (f) risks to Australia from climate change impacts, such as those relating to Australia's environment, biodiversity, health, infrastructure, agriculture, investment, economy or national security.

(2) Clause 14, page 8 (line 24), after "subsection (1)", insert "in relation to the first annual climate change statement".

(3) Clause 14, page 8 (after line 25), after subclause (3), insert:

(3A) In considering advice to be given to the Minister under subsection (1) in relation to:

(a) the second annual climate change statement; or

(b) a subsequent annual climate change statement;

the Climate Change Authority must make provision for public consultation.

(4) Clause 14, page 9 (line 5), after "website", insert "no later than the day the annual climate change statement to which the advice relates is tabled in a House of the Parliament in accordance with subsection 12(3)".

(5) Clause 14, page 9 (lines 7 and 8), omit "Parliament within 15 sitting days of that House after giving the advice to the Minister", substitute:


(i) within 15 sitting days of that House after giving the advice to the Minister; and

(ii) no later than the day the annual climate change statement to which the advice relates is tabled in that House in accordance with subsection 12(3).


(1) Schedule 1, page 4 (after line 6), after item 2, insert:

2A At the end of section 8


Note: Paragraph (f) allows additional functions to be prescribed related to renewable energy technologies as well as electrification technologies or energy efficiency technologies.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (83% turnout) 37 Yes – 26 No