The majority voted in favour of a motion to agree with the remaining stages of the bills and so pass them in the Senate.

The bills will now return to the House of Representatives, where our MPs will decide whether they agree with the Senate amendments.

What does the Climate Change Bill 2022 do?

According to the bills digest, the bill's primary purpose: to incorporate Australia’s national greenhouse gas emission reduction targets (‘emissions reduction targets’, or ‘targets’) in national laws.

The Paris Agreement, to which Australia is a Party, requires Parties to set economy wide absolute emission reduction targets, and to describe these in documents known as nationally determined contributions (NDCs). Although Australia updated its emission reduction targets in an NDC pledge made to the international community in June 2022, the detail of the targets is not presently codified in national law. If enacted, [this bill] would address that situation.

[The bill] has three key functions:

  • to set out Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets in domestic law
  • to require annual Ministerial statements to Parliament regarding climate change and progress towards achievement of emissions reduction targets
  • to give advisory functions regarding these targets and statements to the Climate Change Authority (CCA).

What does the Climate Change (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2022 do?

According to the bills digest, the bill would:

... amend 14 existing Commonwealth Acts relating to climate, energy, infrastructure investment, and scientific research.

The main purpose of the amendments is to require selected Commonwealth entities (including the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA), Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC), Clean Energy Regulator (CER), Export Finance Australia, Infrastructure Australia, and the Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility (NAIF) to consider the emissions reduction targets when exercising their statutory responsibilities.

[The bill] does this by proposing new sections or amending/replacing existing sections to include:

  • an objective of facilitating achievement of Australia’s greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets into the objects clause of the majority of the nominated Acts
  • to clarify the constitutional basis of some of the named Acts.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (88% turnout) 37 Yes – 30 No