The majority voted against acting on the concerns of Lock the Gate (see the text of the motion below).

Text of the motion

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) the serious concern shared by communities and experts across Australia about the significant risks coal and gas developments pose to our communities, public health, water resources and natural areas, and

(ii) that in the week beginning 2 March 2014, a delegation of 16 community representatives from the Lock the Gate network have travelled to Canberra from across the nation, seeking the support of their elected representatives to protect their communities, their water and their land; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to urgently act on the concerns of the Lock the Gate network by:

(i) passing national laws to protect food-producing land from coal and gas mining and give landholders the power of veto over mining on their land,

(ii) protecting communities by establishing a national Environmental Protection Authority and a new Clean Air and Water Act; and

(iii) excluding from the Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement any clause or instrument that undermines the power of Australian governments to protect land, water and communities.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
John Faulkner NSW No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Lin Thorp Tasmania No
Mehmet Tillem Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Absent
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (78% turnout) 9 Yes – 50 No