The majority voted in favour of a motion to read the bill for a third time. This means that the bill is now passed in the Senate. Because it has already passed in the House of Representatives, it will now the sent to the Governor General to become law.

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced to amend the Parliamentary Service Act 1999 to restore the exclusion for the parliamentary departments and office holders from the application of the Freedom of Information Act 1982. This affects three parliamentary departments: the Department of the Senate, the Department of the House of Representatives and the Department of Parliamentary Services.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Australian Labor Party (43% turnout) 13 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Lin Thorp Tasmania Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Mark Furner Queensland Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Anne McEwen SA Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (30% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Christopher Back WA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (49% turnout) 26 Yes – 11 No