The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Greens Senator Lee Rhiannon, which means that it was unsuccessful.

Senator Rhiannon explained that this amendment "creates an obligation that all senators and members be required to provide a link on their official parliamentary website to their individual expenditure reports on the Finance website".(Read Senator Rhiannon's full explanation of the amendment and the associated debate here, after 7:40 pm. )

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced to amend the Parliamentary Service Act 1999 to restore the exclusion for the parliamentary departments and office holders from the application of the Freedom of Information Act 1982.(Read more about the bill, including its explanatory memorandum, here. ) This affects three parliamentary departments: the Department of the Senate, the Department of the House of Representatives and the Department of Parliamentary Services.(More information about the background to the bill can be found in its bills digest.)

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Sue Lines WA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
David Feeney Victoria Absent
Mark Furner Queensland Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Anne McEwen SA Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW Absent
Lin Thorp Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (26% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
George Brandis Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Christopher Back WA Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (47% turnout) 11 Yes – 25 No