The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Labor Senator Joe Ludwig, which was:

That, on Wednesday, 25 November 2009:

(a) the hours of meeting shall be 9.30 am to 6.30 pm and 7.30 pm to 11.40 pm;

(b) the routine of business from 7.30 pm shall be consideration of the government business order of the day relating to the Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme Bill 2009 (No. 2) and 10 related bills; and

(c) the question for the adjournment of the Senate shall be proposed at 11 pm.

This is a procedural motion that Senator Ludwig introduced to ensure that the Senate has sufficient time to finish considering these Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme bills this week.

The Liberal Party was split in this division with twelve voting in favour of the motion and seven voting against it.(Read more about what it means for a senator to cross the floor and rebel against their party in our FAQ section. )

Background to the bills

The Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme Bill 2009 (No. 2) was introduced as part of a package of six bills along with five other related bills to introduce the Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme. They reflect the Carbon Pollution Reduction Scheme Bill 2009 and its related acts, as amended in the House of Representatives before it was negated in the Senate.(See that division here. )

The scheme is an emission trading scheme designed to reduce emissions of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in an effort to address climate change. It gives effect to Australia's obligations under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Kyoto Protocol.

The design of the scheme has been criticised by the business community for threatening jobs and by environmentalists for not going far enough with its emission reduction targets.(Read more about these criticisms here.)

The six bills that were introduced as a package are called:

The five other related bills are called:

Votes Passed by a modest majority

There were 7 rebellions in this division.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Bob Brown Tasmania No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Australian Labor Party (100% turnout) 31 Yes 0 No
Mark Arbib NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (63% turnout) 12 Yes 7 No
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
Russell Trood Queensland Yes
Judith Adams WA No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (83% turnout) 44 Yes – 19 No