The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Christine Milne.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) in December 2007, the Prime Minister, Mr Rudd, said that the government believe that ‘climate change represents one of the greatest moral, economic and environmental challenges of our age’,

(ii) on 6 February 2008, the Minister for Finance and Deregulation, Mr Tanner, announced funding cuts to climate-related programs, including $3 million from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation’s Research Vessel Southern Surveyor, $6 million from the Biodiversity Hotspots program and $42 million from the Renewable Remote Power Generation program, and

(iii) in 2007, the Institute for Sustainable Futures at the University of Technology in Sydney calculated that perverse subsidies supporting fossil fuel industries amounted to between $6.4billion and $7.2billion in the 2005-06 financial year; and

(b) calls on the Government to phase out perverse subsidies to the fossil fuel industry and to reverse its decision to cut funding to research into climate change science and renewable energy programs.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Ruth Webber WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Judith Adams WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Alan Ferguson SA President No
Totals (79% turnout) 8 Yes – 52 No