The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison (Vic), which means it was unsuccessful.

Motion text

That the Senate:

(a) notes that the Metropolitan Transport Forum, comprising of 19 Melbourne municipal councils and 17 associated organisations and members, at a forum at the Melbourne Town Hall on 30 August 2007, has called on the Government to contribute to funding public transport services throughout Australia to meet the needs of public transport users for the following reasons:

(i) public transport contributes to the economic performance and liveability of cities and reduces car dependence and the costs of road congestion, estimated to be $10 billion nationally in 2005 and $20 billion by 2020,

(ii) one suburban train can remove 5 kilometres of cars from congested roads,

(iii) public transport enables Australia to respond to rising fuel prices and environmental sustainability,

(iv) petrol will continue to increase beyond $US70 per barrel with increasing world demand for oil, and only one barrel of oil being discovered for nine barrels being produced,

(v) public transport assists in access to jobs, education and services for people who cannot afford a car or who are unable to drive, including students, the poor, people with disabilities and the elderly, and helps to reduce socio-economic problems, social isolation and inequity,

(vi) public transport helps reduce health costs by reducing the effect of accidents and pollution on the national health bill and hospitals,

(vii) in-built walking to and from transport nodes contributes to regular physical activity, essential in reducing risks of cardio-vascular disease, hypertension, obesity, diabetes, depression, bowel and other cancers,

(viii) by increasing demand – Melbourne’s public transport use increased by 20 per cent in the past 2 years, and

(ix) in an independent Melbourne survey, more than 4 out of 5 respondents (83 per cent) said that the issue of public transport infrastructure would be of importance when deciding who they would vote for in the next federal election; and

(b) urges the Government to reverse its policy of denying public transport any funding in its transport budget determinations.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Chris Evans WA No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Alan Ferguson SA President No
Totals (82% turnout) 9 Yes – 53 No