The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Melbourne MP Adam Bandt (Greens), which means it failed. The amendment related to the ISDS clauses in the Customs Amendment (Growing Australian Export Opportunities Across the Asia-Pacific) Bill 2019.

Adam Bandt explained that:

This amendment deals with the very pernicious clauses that are in these agreements that give corporations the right to sue governments. People may not be aware of what is in these clauses. They sometimes go by the technical name of 'ISDS clauses' but they have very, very real impacts. Because these so-called free trade agreements have effectively been written by big corporations with their representatives in the Liberal Party and endorsed by the Labor Party, these agreements give corporations the right to prosecute and sue governments when governments have the temerity to pass laws that are in the interests of the wellbeing of their own citizens.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Tony Burke Watson No
Linda Burney Barton No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Steve Georganas Adelaide No
Julian Hill Bruce No
Peter Khalil Wills No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Madeleine King Brand No
Andrew Leigh Fenner No
Richard Marles Corio No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Peta Murphy Dunkley No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Clare O'Neil Hotham No
Alicia Payne Canberra No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
David Smith Bean No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga No
Anika Wells Lilley No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Sharon Bird Cunningham Absent
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Absent
Terri Butler Griffith Absent
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Absent
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Andrew Giles Scullin Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Chris Hayes Fowler Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Joanne Ryan Lalor Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Susan Templeman Macquarie Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Josh Wilson Fremantle Absent
Tony Zappia Makin Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Yes
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Julian Simmonds Ryan No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 47 No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Katie Allen Higgins No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
David Coleman Banks No
Vince Connelly Stirling No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Celia Hammond Curtin No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Steve Irons Swan No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Gladys Liu Chisholm No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Fiona Martin Reid No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
John McVeigh Groom No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ben Morton Tangney No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Dave Sharma Wentworth No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Jason Falinski Mackellar Absent
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Damian Drum Nicholls No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
George Christensen Dawson Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (64% turnout) 5 Yes – 92 No