The majority voted against an amendment introduced by WA Senator Jordon Steele-John (Greens), which means it failed. The amendment was introduced in order to replace a table item 4 in clause 2 of the Customs Amendment (Growing Australian Export Opportunities Across the Asia-Pacific) Bill 2019.

Senator Steele-John explained that the amendment related to the Australia-Hong Kong Free Trade Agreement. It would have delayed the commencement of Schedule 3 until the latest of the following dates:

(a) 20 October 2020;

(b) the day this Act receives the Royal Assent;

(c) the day the Free Trade Agreement between Australia and Hong Kong, China, done at Sydney on 26 March 2019, enters into force for Australia.

However, the provisions do not commence at all if the event mentioned in paragraph (c) does not occur.

The Minister must announce, by notifiable instrument, the day the Agreement enters into force for Australia.

The explanatory memorandum explains that:

Schedule 3 of the Bill amends the Customs Act to provide rules for determining whether goods are Hong Kong originating goods and therefore entitled to be imported into Australia at preferential rates of customs duty. The amendments also enable regulations to prescribe record keeping obligations on exporters and producers of goods exported to Hong Kong, China for which a preferential rate of customs duty is claimed.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (46% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
David Van Victoria No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (58% turnout) 13 Yes – 31 No