The majority voted against amendments moved by the Member for Whitlam Stephen Jones (Labor), which means they failed. The amendments would have pushed back the commencement day of this legislation to January 2020 and inserted:

an amendment to the government's amendment which requires that trustees make a decision on the basis of their reasonable belief. That will enable them to identify, with as much precision as the fund is able to, the members who are identified by the government as deserving default life cover. It also provides the trustees and the funds some protection against adverse action by an individual member or their dependant who has either been defaulted in and who shouldn't have been or defaulted out and shouldn't have been.

Amendments text

(1) Amendment (1), omit “November 2019”, insert “January 2020”.

(2) Amendment (4), item 3A, paragraph 68AAF(1)(c), before “the member”, insert “it is reasonable to conclude”.

(4) Amendment (6), omit “ November 2019 ”, substitute “ January 2020 ”.

(5) Amendment (7), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

(6) Amendment (8), omit “December 2019”, substitute “February 2020”.

(8) Amendment (10), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

(9) Amendment (11), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

(10) Amendment (12), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

(11) Amendment (13), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

(13) Amendment (15), omit “November 2019”, substitute “January 2020”.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (85% turnout) 58 Yes 0 No
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Yes
Terri Butler Griffith Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Pat Conroy Shortland Yes
Milton Dick Oxley Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
Daniel Mulino Fraser Yes
Peta Murphy Dunkley Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Alicia Payne Canberra Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anika Wells Lilley Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Julian Simmonds Ryan No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (91% turnout) 0 Yes 51 No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Katie Allen Higgins No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
David Coleman Banks No
Vince Connelly Stirling No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Jason Falinski Mackellar No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Celia Hammond Curtin No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Steve Irons Swan No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Gladys Liu Chisholm No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Fiona Martin Reid No
John McVeigh Groom No
Ben Morton Tangney No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Dave Sharma Wentworth No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Absent
National Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
George Christensen Dawson No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Damian Drum Nicholls No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (89% turnout) 60 Yes – 74 No