The majority voted against amendments introduced by MP for Whitlam Stephen Jones (Labor), which means they failed.

What were the amendments about?

Senator Jones explained that:

While most young workers and workers with low-balance accounts would be able to access life insurance or income protection insurance other than through group insurance through superannuation, this is not the case for many workers in high-risk industries. Concerns about this group of workers were, indeed, raised by the Productivity Commission in the report which led to this bill, the Treasury Laws Amendment (Putting Members' Interests First) Bill 2019, coming before the House. Importantly, the Productivity Commission contemplated an exemption for these workers, recommending that exemptions to the under-25 opt-in restriction should only be granted if the trustee can demonstrate to APRA that opt-out disability or income protection insurance would be in the best interests of that specific cohort of young members. It's exactly that proposition that Labor's second group of amendments go to.

Amendments text

(1) Schedule 1, item 1, page 4 (line 13), at the end of subsection 68AAB(4), add:

; or (e) a member to whom the occupation or industry exception applies (see section 68AAF).

(2) Schedule 1, item 1, page 5 (line 29), at the end of subsection 68AAC(4), add:

; or (e) a member to whom the occupation or industry exception applies (see section 68AAF).

(3) Schedule 1, page 5 (after line 35), after item 3, insert:

3A After section 68AAE


68AAF Occupation or industry exception

(1) The occupation or industry exception applies to a member of a regulated superannuation fund who holds a choice product or MySuper product in the fund if, at the time the member first holds the product, the member is working in an occupation or industry covered by an election referred to in subsection (2).

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), the trustees of a regulated superannuation fund may elect an occupation or industry if the trustees are satisfied that the election of the occupation or industry is appropriate having regard to either or both of the following:

(a) evidence of risk and insurance claims in the industry or occupation;

(b) the availability of insurance for people working in that industry or occupation that, if taken out on behalf of members of the fund working in that industry or occupation, would represent exceptionally good value for those members.

(3) However, the trustees of a regulated superannuation fund must not elect an industry or occupation unless the trustees are satisfied that applying the occupation or industry exception to members of the fund working in that industry or occupation would not inappropriately erode those members' superannuation interests in the fund.

(4) The election must be made by giving APRA a written notice that:

(a) is in the approved form; and

(b) is signed by each trustee of the fund; and

(c) includes the outcomes of an actuarial investigation of the matters mentioned in subsections (2) and (3); and

(d) includes data about risks in that occupation or industry and past insurance claims for that occupation or industry.

(5) An election under subsection (2) is not a legislative instrument.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (93% turnout) 63 Yes 0 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Yes
Terri Butler Griffith Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Pat Conroy Shortland Yes
Milton Dick Oxley Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Steve Georganas Adelaide Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
Daniel Mulino Fraser Yes
Peta Murphy Dunkley Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Alicia Payne Canberra Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anika Wells Lilley Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Julian Simmonds Ryan No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (95% turnout) 0 Yes 53 No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Katie Allen Higgins No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
David Coleman Banks No
Vince Connelly Stirling No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Jason Falinski Mackellar No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Celia Hammond Curtin No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Steve Irons Swan No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Gladys Liu Chisholm No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Fiona Martin Reid No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
John McVeigh Groom No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ben Morton Tangney No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Dave Sharma Wentworth No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Absent
National Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
George Christensen Dawson No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Damian Drum Nicholls No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Anne Webster Mallee No
Keith Pitt Hinkler Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (93% turnout) 64 Yes – 77 No