The majority voted in favour of a motion to read the bill for a second time.(Read more about the stages that a bill must pass through here. )

This means that the majority agree with the main idea of the bill and that the House can now consider the bill in more detail.

One member, Nationals MP Tony Crook, crossed the floor to vote 'aye' with the Government.(Read more about what it means to rebel and cross the floor in our FAQ section. )

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced to transition the wheat export industry to full deregulation by abolishing the Wheat Export Accreditation Scheme and winding up Wheat Export Australia.(Read more about the effect of the Wheat Export Marketing Amendment Bill 2012 in its bills digest (333 KB). )

Prior to 2008, Australia's wheat export market operated under a ' single desk' policy.(Read more about the history of the regulation of the wheat industry here. ) This means that bulk wheat exports were directed through a single exporter of bulk wheat under the Australian Wheat Board International Limited (AWB International). The Export Wheat Commission managed the export of non-bulk wheat (that is, bagged or container wheat).

The single desk policy ended with the introduction of the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 and related bill,(Read more about the bills in their bills digests. The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 is available here (198 KB). The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing (Repeal and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2008 is available here (53.1 KB). ) which established the Wheat Export Accreditation Scheme that was regulated through the Wheat Exports Australia. This introduced competition into the bulk wheat export market so that "[r]ather than forcing growers to sell their wheat through a single exporter they [were] able to choose from a number of accredited exporters as well as domestic outlets."(See the explanatory memorandum of the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008.)


Votes Passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Tony Crook voted Yes against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (93% turnout) 65 Yes 0 No
Dick Adams Lyons Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
David Bradbury Lindsay Yes
Gai Brodtmann Canberra Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Mark Butler Port Adelaide Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Nick Champion Wakefield Yes
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Greg Combet Charlton Yes
Simon Crean Hotham Yes
Yvette D'Ath Petrie Yes
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Kate Ellis Adelaide Yes
Craig Emerson Rankin Yes
Martin Ferguson Batman Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith Yes
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Yes
Steve Gibbons Bendigo Yes
Julia Gillard Lalor Yes
Gary Gray Brand Yes
Sharon Grierson Newcastle Yes
Jill Hall Shortland Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Harry Jenkins Scullin Yes
Stephen Jones Throsby Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia Yes
Geoff Lyons Bass Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Robert McClelland Barton Yes
Daryl Melham Banks Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
John Murphy Reid Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Deborah O'Neill Robertson Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Melissa Parke Fremantle Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Bernie Ripoll Oxley Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand Yes
Kevin Rudd Griffith Yes
Janelle Saffin Page Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Stephen Smith Perth Yes
Laura Smyth La Trobe Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Wayne Swan Lilley Yes
Mike Symon Deakin Yes
Kelvin Thomson Wills Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Laurie Ferguson Werriwa Absent
Alan Griffin Bruce Absent
Andrew Leigh Fraser Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Sid Sidebottom Braddon Absent
Natasha Griggs Solomon Country Liberal Party No
Bruce Scott Maranoa Deputy Speaker No
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Independent Yes
Craig Thomson Dobell Independent Yes
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent No
Tony Windsor New England Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal Party (90% turnout) 0 Yes 53 No
Tony Abbott Warringah No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bob Baldwin Paterson No
Bruce Billson Dunkley No
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar No
Julie Bishop Curtin No
Jamie Briggs Mayo No
Russell Broadbent McMillan No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Teresa Gambaro Brisbane No
Joanna Gash Gilmore No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Joe Hockey North Sydney No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Steve Irons Swan No
Ewen Jones Herbert No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Ian Macfarlane Groom No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Louise Markus Macquarie No
Russell Matheson Macarthur No
Sophie Mirabella Indi No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Judi Moylan Pearce No
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins No
Jane Prentice Ryan No
Christopher Pyne Sturt No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Don Randall Canning No
Andrew Robb Goldstein No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Wyatt Roy Longman No
Philip Ruddock Berowra No
Alby Schultz Hume No
Patrick Secker Barker No
Luke Simpkins Cowan No
Tony Smith Casey No
Sharman Stone Murray No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Barry Haase Durack Absent
Dennis Jensen Tangney Absent
Michael Keenan Stirling Absent
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Absent
Andrew Southcott Boothby Absent
Mal Washer Moore Absent
National Party (91% turnout) 1 Yes 9 No
Tony Crook O'Connor Yes
Darren Chester Gippsland No
George Christensen Dawson No
John Cobb Calare No
Mark Coulton Parkes No
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Paul Neville Hinkler No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Warren Truss Wide Bay No
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Speaker Absent
Totals (91% turnout) 70 Yes – 67 No