The majority voted against a motion introduced by Nationals MP John Cobb. This means that the motion was unsuccessful.

The motion was:

That all words after "That" be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

"the House declines to give this bill a second reading and:(Read more about the stages that a bill must pass through here. )

(1) calls on the Government to extend the operation of Wheat Exports Australia for not less than six months after the resumption of the 44th Parliament to enable the government of the day to modify Wheat Exports Australia or replace it with a another body, to better represent the needs of the wheat industry; and

(2) notes that the Coalition commits to a consultation process that will commence immediately and provide stakeholders with a forum to outline what wheat industry issues need to be addressed."

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced to transition the wheat export industry to full deregulation by abolishing the Wheat Export Accreditation Scheme and winding up Wheat Export Australia.(Read more about the effect of the Wheat Export Marketing Amendment Bill 2012 in its bills digest (333 KB). )

Prior to 2008, Australia's wheat export market operated under a ' single desk' policy.(Read more about the history of the regulation of the wheat industry here. ) This means that bulk wheat exports were directed through a single exporter of bulk wheat under the Australian Wheat Board International Limited (AWB International). The Export Wheat Commission managed the export of non-bulk wheat (that is, bagged or container wheat).

The single desk policy ended with the introduction of the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 and related bill,(Read more about the bills in their bills digests. The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 is available here (198 KB). The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing (Repeal and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2008 is available here (53.1 KB). ) which established the Wheat Export Accreditation Scheme that was regulated through the Wheat Exports Australia. This introduced competition into the bulk wheat export market so that "[r]ather than forcing growers to sell their wheat through a single exporter they [were] able to choose from a number of accredited exporters as well as domestic outlets."(See the explanatory memorandum of the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008.)


Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Tony Crook voted No against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 65 No
Dick Adams Lyons No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
David Bradbury Lindsay No
Gai Brodtmann Canberra No
Tony Burke Watson No
Mark Butler Port Adelaide No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Nick Champion Wakefield No
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Greg Combet Charlton No
Simon Crean Hotham No
Yvette D'Ath Petrie No
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Kate Ellis Adelaide No
Craig Emerson Rankin No
Martin Ferguson Batman No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith No
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh No
Steve Gibbons Bendigo No
Julia Gillard Lalor No
Gary Gray Brand No
Sharon Grierson Newcastle No
Jill Hall Shortland No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Harry Jenkins Scullin No
Stephen Jones Throsby No
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia No
Geoff Lyons Bass No
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga No
Robert McClelland Barton No
Daryl Melham Banks No
Rob Mitchell McEwen No
John Murphy Reid No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Deborah O'Neill Robertson No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Melissa Parke Fremantle No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Bernie Ripoll Oxley No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Michelle Rowland Greenway No
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand No
Kevin Rudd Griffith No
Janelle Saffin Page No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
Stephen Smith Perth No
Laura Smyth La Trobe No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Wayne Swan Lilley No
Mike Symon Deakin No
Kelvin Thomson Wills No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Laurie Ferguson Werriwa Absent
Alan Griffin Bruce Absent
Andrew Leigh Fraser Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Sid Sidebottom Braddon Absent
Natasha Griggs Solomon Country Liberal Party Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Deputy Speaker Yes
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Yes
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent Yes
Tony Windsor New England Independent Yes
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent No
Peter Slipper Fisher Independent No
Craig Thomson Dobell Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal Party (90% turnout) 53 Yes 0 No
Tony Abbott Warringah Yes
John Alexander Bennelong Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Jamie Briggs Mayo Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Teresa Gambaro Brisbane Yes
Joanna Gash Gilmore Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Steve Irons Swan Yes
Ewen Jones Herbert Yes
Craig Kelly Hughes Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Macquarie Yes
Russell Matheson Macarthur Yes
Sophie Mirabella Indi Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Judi Moylan Pearce Yes
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins Yes
Jane Prentice Ryan Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Andrew Robb Goldstein Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Wyatt Roy Longman Yes
Philip Ruddock Berowra Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Sharman Stone Murray Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
Barry Haase Durack Absent
Dennis Jensen Tangney Absent
Michael Keenan Stirling Absent
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Absent
Andrew Southcott Boothby Absent
Mal Washer Moore Absent
National Party (82% turnout) 8 Yes 1 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
George Christensen Dawson Yes
John Cobb Calare Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
Tony Crook O'Connor No
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Paul Neville Hinkler Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Speaker Absent
Totals (91% turnout) 66 Yes – 70 No