The majority voted against Opposition amendments on sheets 2586 and 2587, which means they failed.

Amendment text

SHEET 2586

(1) Schedule 1, item 11, page 21 (line 13), omit "or subsection (9)".

(2) Schedule 1, item 11, page 21 (after line 14), after subsection 41QD(6), insert:

Evidential burden of proof

(6A) Despite subsection 13.3(3) of the Criminal Code and section 41QE of this Act a person does not bear an evidential burden in relation to the matters in subsection (9).

SHEET 2587

(1) Schedule 1, item 11, page 26 (after line 17), insert:

Division 3 — Periodic reporting by Minister

41RE Periodic report on smoking and vaping rates

(1) As soon as practicable after the end of each reporting period, the Minister must cause a report to be prepared on smoking and vaping rates in Australia.

(2) As soon as practicable after the completion of a report, the persons who prepared the report must give the report to the Minister.

(3) The Minister must cause each report to be tabled in each House of the Parliament within 15 sitting days of that House after the report is given to the Minister.

(4) The Minister must be satisfied that each report was prepared in collaboration with such Commonwealth, State and Territory agencies as the Minister considers appropriate.

(5) In this section:

reporting period means:

(a) the period of 6 months beginning on the day this section commences; or

(b) each subsequent 6-month period.

Note: The Illicit Tobacco and E-cigarette Commissioner must prepare reports on enforcement statistics, and analysis of those statistics, relating to the illicit tobacco and e-cigarette trade in Australia, including detections and seizures of illicit tobacco and e-cigarette products, and associated arrests. Reports must be prepared every 12 months and tabled in both Houses of the Parliament. See Chapter 6A of the Public Health (Tobacco and Other Products) Act 2023.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Steph Hodgins-May Victoria No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Lisa Darmanin Victoria No
Varun Ghosh WA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (74% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dave Sharma NSW Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (78% turnout) 26 Yes – 33 No