The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Victorian Senator Bridget McKenzie (Nationals) to the Greens amendment (6), which means it failed and the Greens amendment will remain as it is.

Amendment text

(1) After subsection 5DA(2), insert:

Initial assessment

(2A) Infrastructure Australia must conduct an assessment under this section, and prepare a report on the assessment, in relation to projects covered by subsection (2) that are commitments of the Commonwealth Government first made on or after 22 May 2022.

(2B) Infrastructure Australia must cause a copy of the report on the assessment under subsection (2A) to be tabled in each House of the Parliament:

(a) within 3 months after the commencement of this section; or

(b) if no sitting day of the relevant House occurs within that period and after the report is finalised—on the next sitting day after the end of that period.

Annual assessments

Original Greens amendment

(6) Schedule 1, item 4, page 7 (after line 29), after section 5D, insert:

5DA Functions — assessments of certain nationally significant infrastructure projects without prior evaluation

(1) For the purposes of paragraph 5(d), Infrastructure Australia has the function of assessing, and reporting on, projects covered by subsection (2).

(2) A project is covered by this subsection if:

(a) it is a project for investment in, or enhancements to, nationally significant infrastructure; and

(b) the project involves expenditure by or on behalf of the Commonwealth; and

(c) the Commonwealth Government's total expenditure involved in the project is more than $250 million; and

(d) the Commonwealth Government has committed to the project without prior evaluation (or endorsement of evaluation) of a proposal for the project by Infrastructure Australia.

(3) Infrastructure Australia must ensure that assessments under this section are conducted at least once in each financial year beginning on or after the commencement of this section and prepare a report on the assessment.

(4) Infrastructure Australia must cause a copy of the report on the assessment under subsection (3) to be tabled in each House of the Parliament within 10 sitting days after it has been finalised.

Other assessments

(5) Infrastructure Australia may conduct other assessments under this section, and prepare reports on those assessments, on its own initiative.

(6) Infrastructure Australia must cause a copy of the report on the assessment mentioned in subsection (5) to be tabled in each House of the Parliament within 10 sitting days after it has been finalised.

Conduct of assessments

(7) The regulations may prescribe matters relating to the conduct of assessments under this section

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (73% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent No
David Van Victoria Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dave Sharma NSW Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (72% turnout) 25 Yes – 30 No