The majority voted in favour of disagreeing with amendments introduced by North Sydney MP Kylea Tink (Independent), which means they failed.

What does this amendment do?

Ms Tink explained that:

My first amendment, then, is straightforward on the face of it. It's just the insertion of one simple but vital word, and that word is 'community'. [...] As it stands, the bill requires Infrastructure Australia to consult with government, commercial, industrial, consumer, academic and professional bodies or organisations, but not with community. In this way, this bill continues Infrastructure Australia's focus on economic and productivity gains for infrastructure, but it does not fully account for the social and community needs of our collective society, nor does it allow or require the organisation to look at the overall impact of any and all infrastructure projects or measures such as quality of life or the right of all to a safe and healthy environment.

My second amendment relates to transparency around Infrastructure Australia's advice. It would legislate recommendation 4 of the 2020 review, which called for two new annual statements to be tabled in parliament in the interests of transparency and accountability. All members in this place, as well as the media and voters, should be able to review the reports on the performance outcomes being achieved from the investment of taxpayer funds.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, item 4, page 7 (after line 29), after section 5D, insert:

5DA Functions — annual statements

(1) Infrastructure Australia must, during each financial year, prepare and give to the Minister the following:

(a) an annual statement to inform the annual budget process on infrastructure investment;

(b) an annual statement on the performance outcomes being achieved from the investment program and existing project initiatives.

(2) Infrastructure Australia must:

(a) make each annual statement available on Infrastructure Australia's website as soon as practicable after giving the statement to the Minister; and

(b) cause a copy of each annual statement to be tabled in each House of the Parliament within 15 sitting days of that House after giving the statement to the Minister.

(2) Schedule 1, page 8 (after line 9), after item 5, insert:

5A Paragraph 6B(a)

After "consumer,", insert "community,".

(3) Schedule 1, page 8 (after line 14), after item 6, insert:

6A Subparagraph 39B(b)(i)

After "consumer", insert ", community".

(4) Schedule 1, item 8, page 9 (after line 13), after subitem (5), insert:

(5A) Section 5DA of the Infrastructure Australia Act 2008, as inserted by this Part, applies in relation to a financial year starting on or after the commencement of this item.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Adam Bandt Melbourne No
Stephen Bates Brisbane No
Max Chandler-Mather Griffith No
Elizabeth Watson-Brown Ryan No
Australian Labor Party (61% turnout) 47 Yes 0 No
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Michelle Ananda-Rajah Higgins Yes
Matt Burnell Spence Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Alison Byrnes Cunningham Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Mary Doyle Aston Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Cassandra Fernando Holt Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Carina Garland Chisholm Yes
Steve Georganas Adelaide Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Luke Gosling Solomon Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Jerome Laxale Bennelong Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Sam Lim Tangney Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Louise Miller-Frost Boothby Yes
Peta Murphy Dunkley Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Gordon Reid Robertson Yes
Dan Repacholi Hunter Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Tracey Roberts Pearce Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Marion Scrymgour Lingiari Yes
Sally Sitou Reid Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anika Wells Lilley Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Tony Burke Watson Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Andrew Charlton Parramatta Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Andrew Giles Scullin Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Madeleine King Brand Absent
Tania Lawrence Hasluck Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Zaneta Mascarenhas Swan Absent
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Daniel Mulino Fraser Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Sam Rae Hawke Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Absent
Kate Chaney Curtin Independent No
Zoe Daniel Goldstein Independent No
Andrew Gee Calare Independent No
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Dai Le Fowler Independent No
Monique Ryan Kooyong Independent No
Sophie Scamps Mackellar Independent No
Allegra Spender Wentworth Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Kylea Tink North Sydney Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Angie Bell Moncrieff Absent
Colin Boyce Flynn Absent
Garth Hamilton Groom Absent
Henry Pike Bowman Absent
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
Andrew Willcox Dawson Absent
Terry Young Longman Absent
Liberal Party (3% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Bridget Archer Bass Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Absent
Ian Goodenough Moore Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Julian Leeser Berowra Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Nola Marino Forrest Absent
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Absent
Zoe McKenzie Flinders Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Gavin Pearce Braddon Absent
Melissa Price Durack Absent
James Stevens Sturt Absent
Michael Sukkar Deakin Absent
Angus Taylor Hume Absent
Dan Tehan Wannon Absent
Bert Van Manen Forde Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Aaron Violi Casey Absent
Jenny Ware Hughes Absent
Rick Wilson O'Connor Absent
Keith Wolahan Menzies Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
National Party (17% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Michelle Landry Capricornia Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Sam Birrell Nicholls Absent
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
Pat Conaghan Cowper Absent
David Gillespie Lyne Absent
Kevin Hogan Page Absent
Barnaby Joyce New England Absent
David Littleproud Maranoa Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Keith Pitt Hinkler Absent
Anne Webster Mallee Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Speaker Absent
Totals (44% turnout) 50 Yes – 16 No