The majority voted against amendments introduced by South Australian Senator David Pocock (Independent), which means they failed.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 192, page 219 (lines 8 to 11), omit subclause (2), substitute:

Authorised person

(2) For the purposes of Part 7 of the Regulatory Powers Act, each of the following persons is an authorised person in relation to the provisions mentioned in subsection (1):

(a) the Chair of the Regulator;

(b) any other person, whether the rights or interests of the person are affected.

(2) Clause 192, page 219 (lines 12 to 14), omit "An authorised person may, in writing, delegate the authorised person's powers and functions under Part 7 of the Regulatory Powers Act", substitute "The Chair of the Regulator may, in writing, delegate the Chair's powers and functions under Part 7 of the Regulatory Powers Act as an authorised person".

(3) Clause 211, page 233 (after line 8), at the end of the clause, add:

There is extended standing for judicial review under the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 in relation to decisions made under this Act.

(4) Page 237 (after line 29), at the end of Part 20, add:

Division 3 — Review of administrative decisions

217A Extended standing for judicial review

(1) This section extends (and does not limit) the meaning of the term person aggrieved in the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 for the purposes of the application of that Act in relation to:

(a) a decision made under this Act; or

(b) a failure to make a decision under this Act; or

(c) conduct engaged in for the purpose of making a decision under this Act.

(2) Any individual is taken to be a person aggrieved by the decision, failure or conduct.

(3) A term (except person aggrieved) used in this section and in the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act 1977 has the same meaning in this section as it has in that Act.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (64% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Janet Rice Victoria Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dave Sharma NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (61% turnout) 12 Yes – 34 No