The majority voted against amendment (1) on sheet 1965 revised, which was introduced by Victorian Senator Sarah Henderson (Liberal), meaning it was not successful.

What do the amendments do?

Senator Henderson explained that:

This is a very important proposal to provide that, before the Startup Year program is rolled out in full, the universities or the government require the universities to conduct a pilot.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, item 25, page 9 (after line 17), after Division 128A, insert:

Division 128AA — Accelerator program course pilot

128AA-1 Accelerator program course pilot

(1) The Minister must cause an accelerator program course pilot to be conducted.

(2) Without limiting the matters that may be included in the STARTUP-HELP Guidelines, those guidelines must:

(a) nominate at least one, but no more than 2, higher education providers to conduct the pilot (the nominated higher education providers); and

(b) prescribe requirements in relation to the conduct of the pilot; and

(c) provide for an independent review of the pilot; and

(d) prescribe requirements in relation to the conduct of the independent review; and

(e) provide that a report of the independent review be tabled in each House of the Parliament.

(3) A higher education provider (other than the nominated higher education providers) must not enrol a person in an accelerator program course until the pilot is completed.

(4) The pilot must be completed no later than 2 years after the commencement of this section.

(5) For the purposes of subsections (3) and (4), the pilot is completed when the report of the independent review of the pilot is tabled in each House of the Parliament.

(6) For the purposes of entitlement to STARTUP-HELP assistance under subsection 128B-1(1), the pilot is an accelerator program course.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (78% turnout) 29 Yes – 30 No