The majority voted against an amendment that would have added the words below to an original motion, which means the original motion will remain unchanged. The amendment was introduced by Tasmanian Senator Jonathon Duniam (Liberal).

Original motion

That the report from the committee be adopted.

This means that the changes agreed to by the committee would be agreed to and adopted by the Senate.

Amendment text

At the end of the motion, add “, but the Senate is of the opinion that if this bill is passed, the Government should ensure that:

(a) any drug intended for the use of ending human life requires the approval of the Therapeutic Goods Administration, by seeking to amend the Therapeutic Goods Act 1989 so that there is no capacity for exemptions from the provisions of Parts 3-2 and 3-2A of the Act to be granted in relation to such drugs; and

(b) the importation of any drug intended for the use of ending human life is prohibited and that no regulation is made under the Customs (Prohibited Imports) Regulations 1956 to provide for the granting of a licence or permission to import any such drug”.

Why are the major parties split on how to vote?

This was a free vote (also known as a conscience vote), which means our senators voted according to their own beliefs rather than voting along party lines.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 1 Yes 19 No
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (88% turnout) 15 Yes 6 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 2 Yes 1 No
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (86% turnout) 23 Yes – 42 No