The majority voted in favour of a motion to agree with the main idea of the bill. In parliamentary jargon, they voted to read the bill for a second time. This means they can now discuss it in more detail.

Why are the major parties split on how to vote?

This was a free vote (also known as a conscience vote), which means our senators voted according to their own beliefs rather than voting along party lines.

What does this bill do?

According to the bills digest:

  • The Bill proposes to remove the restrictions currently preventing the Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory from passing legislation which would allow for voluntary assisted dying (VAD).
  • These restrictions were introduced in 1997 through the passage of a private member’s Bill introduced by Mr Kevin Andrews MP.
  • There have been a number of attempts by parliamentarians to remove these restrictions in previous Parliaments.

In other words, the purpose of the bill is to remove the prohibition on legalising euthanasia so that the Territories can introduce their own laws on the subject.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 16 Yes 4 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 6 Yes 14 No
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 1 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (87% turnout) 41 Yes – 25 No