The majority voted in favour of amendments (1) and (2) on sheet 1514, which were moved by Victorian Senator Lidia Thorpe (Greens). These amendments will now form part of the bill and be sent back to the House of Representatives for their consideration.

The amendments introduce a requirement for the Minister to request (and provide to parliament) progress reports on the Northern Territory Aboriginal Investment Corporation's strategic investment plan.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, item 19, page 46 (line 4), omit “may”, substitute “must”.

(2) Schedule 1, item 19, page 46 (after line 5), after subitem (4), insert:

(4A) The Minister must table a copy of any progress report given to the Minister in each House of the Parliament within 15 sitting days of that House after the Minister receives the report.

What is this bill about?

According to the bills digest, the bill's purpose "is to amend the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (the Act) in four areas, covered by four Schedules:

  • Schedule 1 will establish the Northern Territory Aboriginal Investment Corporation (NTAIC) as a new Aboriginal-controlled corporate Commonwealth entity to strategically invest in Aboriginal businesses and commercial projects and make other payments to or for the benefit of Aboriginal peoples in the NT
  • Schedule 2 will amend the exploration and mining provisions of the Act in order to clarify and streamline a number of approval processes
  • Schedule 3 will amend and clarify land administration provisions, including on township leases, access to Aboriginal land, land under escrow and other matters
  • Schedule 4 will align payments from the Aboriginals Benefit Account (ABA) with the Commonwealth’s financial framework and the timing of mineral royalties payments from the Northern Territory (NT)."

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (48% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA President No
Totals (57% turnout) 22 Yes – 21 No