The majority voted in favour of a motion "that schedule 2 stand as printed," which means that the schedule will remain unchanged. This vote occurred after Victorian Senator Lidia Thorpe (Greens) proposed an amendment to oppose that schedule.

What is Schedule 2?

According to the bill digest:

Schedule 2 implements several amendments recommended by the Aboriginal Land Commissioner’s 2013 Review of Part IV of the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 concerning mining activity under the Act [i.e. the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976]. These amendments update the Act to reflect Northern Territory legislation and developments in mining (for example, concerning geothermal energy), clarify and change aspects of the approval process (including meeting requirements with Traditional Owners), clarify the process for dealing with relatively low impact mining for ‘extractive minerals’ (clay, gravel, sand, et cetera), and change parts of the ministerial approval process by removing delegation of some Commonwealth ministerial approvals from the Northern Territory mining minister and removing the requirement for Commonwealth ministerial approval for some mining projects.

What is this bill about?

According to the bills digest, the bill's purpose "is to amend the Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976 (the Act) in four areas, covered by four Schedules:

  • Schedule 1 will establish the Northern Territory Aboriginal Investment Corporation (NTAIC) as a new Aboriginal-controlled corporate Commonwealth entity to strategically invest in Aboriginal businesses and commercial projects and make other payments to or for the benefit of Aboriginal peoples in the NT
  • Schedule 2 will amend the exploration and mining provisions of the Act in order to clarify and streamline a number of approval processes
  • Schedule 3 will amend and clarify land administration provisions, including on township leases, access to Aboriginal land, land under escrow and other matters
  • Schedule 4 will align payments from the Aboriginals Benefit Account (ABA) with the Commonwealth’s financial framework and the timing of mineral royalties payments from the Northern Territory (NT)."

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (8% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (46% turnout) 13 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA President Absent
Totals (39% turnout) 22 Yes – 7 No