The same number of senators voted for and against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Jacqui Lambie (Jacqui Lambie Network), which means it failed.

Motion text

(1) That the Senate notes that:

(a) the Prime Minister's Statement of Ministerial Standards of 30 August 2018, at paragraph 1.3(iv), states that '[Ministers] will be required to answer for the consequences of their decisions and actions' and they 'must ensure that... their conduct in a private capacity upholds the laws of Australia, and demonstrates appropriately high standards of personal integrity';

(b) it is the Prime Minister's responsibility to uphold the Ministerial Standards; and

(c) it does not appear that the Prime Minister has taken any significant action to assess whether Minister Porter meets the criteria set by paragraph 1.3(iv) of the Ministerial Standards.

(2) That the following matter be referred to the Finance and Public Administration References Committee for inquiry and report by 10 August 2021:

(a) the extent to which the presumption of innocence conflicts with the Prime Minister's responsibility to maintain public confidence in the executive, and how the Prime Minister should seek to resolve that conflict;

(b) whether a minister's obligation to uphold high standards of personal integrity in their private conduct extends to conduct engaged in prior to their commission as a minister;

(c) the adequacy of the Prime Minister's actions to assess whether Minister Porter meets the requirements of the Prime Minister's Statement of Ministerial Standards of 30 August 2018, including paragraph 1.3(iv); and

(d) any related matters.

Votes Not passed

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (56% turnout) 14 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Andrew McLachlan SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (68% turnout) 26 Yes – 26 No