The majority voted against a motion introduced by ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor), which means it failed.

The voting data attached to this division is currently - as of 17 June 2021 - wrong. It is a replication of the later division on gender dysphoria. See the Journal of the Senate (435 KB) for the correct voting data. Australian Hansard has been informed of this error. Please do not attach this division to any relavant policy until the voting data has been corrected as it will skew the voting record.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) expresses its support for public funding for early childhood education and care (ECEC), recognising that it helps increase the participation of parents in the workforce, especially women, thereby boosting Australia's economy, and contributes to the physical, intellectual, social and emotional development of children;

(b) notes that public funding for ECEC has been described by certain Government members and senators as a 'money pit', 'communism' and 'the hand of government reaching in and taking away our children's youth';

(c) recognises that the Government's child care policy:

(i) does not start until July 2022,

(ii) provides no additional benefit to families with only one child,

(iii) rips away increased subsidy support for families with two children in care when the oldest child goes to school,

(iv) creates confusion for many families as to whether they will be eligible for any support, and if so how much and for how long, and

(v) has missed the opportunity to boost Australia's economy by increasing women's workforce participation; and

(d) calls on the Federal Government to adopt Labor's Cheaper Child Care Plan, which will benefit four times as many families as the Government's plan.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There were 6 rebellions in this division.

  • Simon Birmingham voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Andrew Bragg voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Richard Colbeck voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Jane Hume voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Marise Payne voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Dean Smith voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 17 Yes 6 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (76% turnout) 23 Yes – 35 No