The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Malcolm Roberts (Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party), which means it failed.

This vote was declared a conscience vote for the coalition, with the following six Liberal Party members voting 'No' against the rest of their party (who voted Yes):

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) in 100 years of diagnostic history of childhood gender dysphoria (GD) there is an alarming trend that teenage girls, with no history of GD, have become the largest group seeking treatment,

(ii) in the United States of America, girls requesting gender reassignment surgery in 2016-17 rose 400%,

(iii) in the United Kingdom, girls presenting with GD in the last 10 years rose 4000%, and

(iv) Australia's Royal Children's Hospital indicates referrals have grown from 1 every two years to 104 patients in 2014;

(b) further notes that:

(i) Sweden's leading gender clinic has ended treatment of minors with hormonal drugs due to safety concerns, citing cancer and infertility, and

(ii) suicide mortality rate for transgendered people is 20 times higher than comparable peers;

(c) supports children presenting with GD to be given:

(i) the 'wait and see' method as the first choice, since evidence shows between 70-90% of young people's dysphoria resolves itself by puberty, and

(ii) a comprehensive therapeutic pathway since a large percentage of these children have pre-existing mental health issues, and not a medical pathway; and

(d) condemns the practice of children receiving:

(i) experimental and unproven medical treatments of irreversible puberty blockers and sex hormone treatments, and

(ii) irreversible transgender surgery.

Myths and misconceptions

Note that this motion contains several common myths and misconceptions about healthcare for young gender diverse people. If you are interested in learning more about current best practice for treating transgender and non-binary children and adolescents (and the evidence this practice is based on), see the Standards of Care published by the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH).

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There were 6 rebellions in this division.

  • Simon Birmingham voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Andrew Bragg voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Richard Colbeck voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Jane Hume voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Marise Payne voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Dean Smith voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Absent
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Rex Patrick SA Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (79% turnout) 17 Yes 6 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Ben Small WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (76% turnout) 23 Yes – 35 No