The same number of senators voted for and against a motion that:

opposition amendments (1) and (4) to (7) on sheet 1254, moved by Senator Wong, be agreed to

In other words, the same number of senators voted for and against those amendments and so, as a majority was not reached, they failed.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 5, item 4, page 68 (line 4), omit "Subject to subsection (3A), the", substitute "The".

(4) Schedule 5, page 75 (after line 15), after item 10, insert:

10A At the end of section 557C


(4) To avoid doubt, a reference to proceedings relating to a contravention by an employer of a civil remedy provision in paragraph (1) (a) includes proceedings dealt with as small claims proceedings under section 548.

(5) Schedule 5, page 82 (before line 3), before item 36, insert:

36A Subsection 357(1)

Omit "(1)".

36B Subsection 357(1) (note)

Omit "subsection", substitute "section".

36C Subsection 357(2)

Repeal the subsection.

(6) Schedule 5, item 39, page 82 (lines 9 and 10), omit the item, substitute:

39 Subsection 539(2) (before table item 12)


(7) Schedule 5, items 43 and 44, page 84 (lines 15 to 29), omit the items, substitute:

43 After subsection 27(1A)


(1B) Section 26 does not apply to:

(a) a law of a State or Territory providing for an employer, or an officer, employee or agent of an employer, to be liable to be prosecuted for an offence relating to underpaying an employee an amount payable to the employee in relation to the performance of work; or

(b) a law of a State or Territory providing for an employer, or an officer, employee or agent of an employer, to be liable to be prosecuted for an offence relating to an employee record that is required to be made or kept by the employer under this Act (such as an offence for failing to make or keep such a record or making or keeping a false or misleading record).

Votes Not passed

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Stirling Griff SA Centre Alliance Yes
Sam McMahon NT Country Liberal Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Rex Patrick SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Jacqui Lambie Network Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Ben Small WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
David Van Victoria No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (84% turnout) 32 Yes – 32 No