The majority voted in favour of keeping items 12 and 13 of schedule 1 and the tables dealing with tax rates for resident taxpayers, non-resident taxpayers and working holiday-makers for the 2022-23 or the 2023-24 year of income as they are. This means that they will 'stand as printed'.

This vote took place after South Australian Senator Penny Wong (Labor) voted to oppose all those parts. Senator Wong explained that:

These are the tax rates that the government is seeking to change from 2024-25. What I would say to members of the crossbench and senators in this place is that we have two objections to this. One is a fundamental policy objection. It is a fiscal risk. It locks in a very fast-growing program which costs not only billions of dollars a year but grows at 12 per cent, which has consequences both for the budget and for economic and fiscal risk. It is also a fundamental restructure of our tax system. As I referred, one of the academics who made submissions to the Senate committee talked about this as being contrary to essentially 100 years of progressive taxation in this country. It is the wrong thing to do. I make the third point that it was well made by Senator Storer in his very careful and considered speech on the second reading that there is no reason to allow the government to hold these tax cuts, which would occur in six years time—you would have to elect Malcolm Turnbull twice—and make them a pre-condition of tax cuts which can be delivered next month. That is nothing other than a political strategy. As Senator Storer said:

There is no reason to legislate tax cuts four and six years away except to hold future parliaments to ransom and hold out to voters what may well prove to be false hopes.

Original amendment text

(8) Schedule 1, items 12 and 13, page 11 (lines 9 to 13), to be opposed.

(14) Schedule 2, item 2, page 13 (line 14) to page 14 (line 2), table dealing with tax rates for resident taxpayers for the 2022-23 or 2023-24 year of income to be opposed.

(16) Schedule 2, item 5, page 15 (lines 3 to 5), table dealing with tax rates for non-resident taxpayers for the 2022-23 or 2023-24 year of income to be opposed.

(18) Schedule 2, item 9, page 16 (lines 11 to 13), table dealing with tax rates for working holiday makers for the 2022-23 or 2023-24 year of income to be opposed.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (88% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Centre Alliance (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (74% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (150% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (87% turnout) 43 Yes – 23 No