The majority voted against amendments (3) to (8), (10) and (12) to (15) on sheet 8441, which was introduced by Senator Tim Storer (Independent). This means they failed.

Senator Storer explained that:

Given our substantial debt challenge—$341 billion net debt in 2017-18, and growing—it is irresponsible to proceed with the full income tax plan proposed by the government at this point in time. The measures commencing in 2022 and 2024 lock in over $120 billion in reductions in revenue out to 2028-29. By Treasury's own admission, uncertainties generally tend to increase as the forecast horizon lengthens; therefore, there are larger error bands around estimates three, four or more years ahead. The geopolitical and economic uncertainties noted by Treasury in budget estimates in May demand the government prepare by focusing on debt and deficit reduction as well as maintaining essential services. We are in a substantially weaker budgetary position now than we were in 2007 in the lead-up to the GFC. There's no need to rush these changes that commence in 2022 and 2024. They are well beyond the scope of the forward estimates and the next election. There will be ample time between now and then for parliament to re-examine the appropriateness of these measures and decide whether to proceed with the additional elements of the government's plan.

History tells us that tax cuts, once legislated, are very difficult to wind back; therefore, we cannot rely on an assumption that these cuts could be repealed or amended if unforeseen economic developments materialised. In the context of a recent uplift in government revenue, the measures set to commence from 1 July 2018 are affordable. Given rising cost-of-living pressures and wage stagnation, the new low- and middle-income tax offset is particularly warranted and should be locked in to provide lasting targeted support to low- and middle-income earners beyond the forward estimates. With that extension, information received from the Parliamentary Budget Office indicates that the amended plan I am putting forward would cost $46.75 billion compared with the $143.95 billion for steps 1, 2 and 3 of the government's plan as it stands, and $102.35 billion for steps 1 and 2. The amended proposal I am putting forward of $46.75 billion generates savings that would help us return to surplus sooner, pay down debt quicker and free up money to spend on critical social and infrastructure programs, and I hope that it meets with the approval of the chamber.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Centre Alliance (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (150% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (88% turnout) 31 Yes – 36 No