The majority voted against an amendment introduced by NSW Senator Doug Cameron (Labor), which means it failed.

What do these amendments do?

Senator Cameron explained that:

Our amendments seek to improve the way the trial work in Ceduna and East Kimberley by ensuring that the rules by which a community body makes recommendations to the secretary are transparent and made public. Labor, in its own consultations, heard the way in which the decisions made by the community body were not always clear and transparent.

The government must specify funding for wraparound services in trial sites formally in the legislation. The wraparound services are important. There is no point in putting these cards in without appropriate wraparound services. The minister could give me a figure on what wraparound services cost across the country, but, for the bill that's been brought here, we didn't get any specified idea of what the wraparound services were costing. We are seeking that the government specify the social support services to ensure trial participants get the alcohol rehabilitation, mental health and other support services they need. The funding allocated in the new services being delivered is not clear to trial participants. This amendment requires the information be made public.

Amendment text

(2) Schedule 1, item 2, page 3 (lines 7 and 8), omit the item, substitute:

2 Paragraph 124PF(1 ) ( b)

Omit "30 June 2018", substitute "30 June 2019".

3 Subsection 124PF(2)

Omit "up to 3 discrete", substitute "2 discrete".

4 Paragraph 124PK(2 ) ( a)

After "voluntary participant", insert "reached in accordance with the requirements set out in a determination made under subsection (6)".

5 At the end of section 124PK


(6) The Secretary must, by legislative instrument, determine requirements (including procedural requirements) for how an agreement of a kind mentioned in paragraph (2) (a) must be reached.

6 At the end of Division 3 of Part 3D


Subdivision C—Social support services

124PMA Social support services to be provided in trial areas

(1) The Minister must, by legislative instrument, specify social support services that are to be provided or supported by the Secretary in each trial area.

(2) The specified social support services must be able to adequately provide for the care, protection, welfare or safety of adults, children or families in the trial area. (trial of cashless welfare arrangements]

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (63% turnout) 15 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Yes
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (76% turnout) 26 Yes – 30 No