The majority voted in favour of a government amendment introduced by NSW Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells (Liberal), which means it will now be included as part of the bill.

What does the amendment do?

Senator Fierravanti-Wells explained that:

The government amendment extends the trial of the cashless debit card to 30 June 2019. The amendments also specify that the trial will be limited to three sites—namely, the East Kimberley and the included communities, Ceduna and the surrounding regions, and the Goldfields. The bill retains the existing legislated limitations on trial parameters in relation to the number of sites, participant numbers and the duration of the cashless debit card trial.

Under the current legislation, trial sites are determined via legislative instrument. The bill removes this ability and specifically names the trial areas. Instead, the minister will be able to declare that specific parts of the trial areas are exempt from the cashless debit card. This provides the government with the flexibility to remove localities. This reflects that discussions with communities in the Goldfields region are ongoing and that requirements for communities already on the cashless debit card may change over time.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, items 1 and 2, page 3 (lines 4 to 8), omit the items, substitute:

1 Subsection 124PD(1)


Ceduna area means Ceduna within the meaning of the Social Security (Administration) (Trial Area—Ceduna and Surrounding Region) Determination2015 as in force on 15 March 2016 and includes the Surrounding Region (within the meaning of that determination as so in force).

East Kimberley area means East Kimberley within the meaning of the Social Security (Administration) (Trial Area—East Kimberley) Determination2016 as in force on 26 April 2016 and includes the areas of each of the Included Communities (within the meaning of that determination as so in force).

Goldfields area means the following Local Government Areas as at 7 February 2018:

(a) the Shire of Leonora;

(b) the Shire of Laverton;

(c) the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder;

(d) the Shire of Coolgardie;

(e) the Shire of Menzies.

Local Government Areas means areas designated by the Governor of Western Australia to be a city, town or shire, in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 (WA).

2 Subsection 124PD(1) (definition of trial area )

Repeal the definition, substitute:

trial area means the following:

(a) the Ceduna area;

(b) the East Kimberley area;

(c) the Goldfields area;

other than any part of such an area determined in an instrument under subsection (2).

3 Subsection 124PD(2)

Repeal the subsection, substitute:

(2) The Minister may, by legislative instrument, determine a part of an area for the purposes of the definition of trial area in subsection (1).

4 Paragraph 124PF(1 ) ( b)

Omit "30 June 2018", substitute "30 June 2019".

5 Subsection 124PF(2)

Omit "up to 3 discrete", substitute "the".

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (63% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Totals (76% turnout) 30 Yes – 26 No