The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Lee Rhiannon, which means it was rejected.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) the public has a right to know who may benefit from the work of lobbyists,

(ii) the current regulation that covers lobbyists is deficient as it does not cover in-house lobbyists and lobbying of non-government and backbench members of Parliament (MPs),

(iii) in its submission to the inquiry into the operation of the Lobbying Code of Conduct, the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet estimated that around 5 000 lobbyists would be required to register if in-house lobbyists were covered by the scheme, compared to 934 entities and individuals currently on the register, and

(iv) the recent controversy about links between lobbying company Australian Public Affairs and the office of the Assistant Minister for Health (Senator Nash); and

(b) calls on the government to:

(i) establish an Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying,

(ii) provide a legislative framework for the regulation of lobbying,

(iii) expand the scope of who is the subject of lobbying to include all MPs and senators, including cross benchers and opposition MPs,

(iv) expand the scope of lobbying to include corporations and organisations employing in-house lobbyists, and

(v) ban the payment of success fees to lobbyists.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Don Farrell SA No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Mehmet Tillem Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Penny Wong SA No
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Anne McEwen SA Absent
Jan McLucas Queensland Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Lin Thorp Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Absent
Liberal Party (59% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
David Johnston WA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (66% turnout) 9 Yes – 41 No