This division relates to the Policies For a carbon price and For renewable energy.

The majority voted in favour of a motion that: At the end of the motion that the resumption of debate be made an order of debate for a later hour add: 'and the orders of the day for the resumption of the second reading debate on the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (Abolition) Bill 2013, and subsequently the Climate Change Authority (Abolition) Bill 2013, have precedence over this bill and the other related bills until determined.' (You can read the associated debate here. It commenced after 8:38 pm. )

Passing this motion means that the second reading debate about the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (Abolition) Bill 2013 and the Climate Change Authority (Abolition) Bill 2013 will be resumed before the debate about the Clean Energy Legislation (Carbon Tax Repeal) Bill 2013 and other related bills.

The motion was introduced by Labor Senator Penny Wong.

Background to the bills

The Clean Energy Legislation (Carbon Tax Repeal) Bill 2013 was introduced into Parliament as part of a package of eleven bills to remove the carbon pricing mechanism and abolish the Clean Energy Finance Corporation and the Climate Change Authority.

The eleven bills are:

The carbon pricing mechanism commenced on 1 July 2012.(For more information on the carbon pricing mechanism and how it works, please see the Clean Energy Regulator’s website. ) It is an emissions trading scheme that puts a price on carbon emissions. It applies to “liable entities” (a group that includes companies that emit a high level of greenhouse gases). Initially the price of carbon is fixed by the mechanism but from 1 July 2015 the price will be set by the market, though the Labor Government did announce plans to bring this forward to 1 July 2014 just before they were defeated by the Coalition in the 2013 election.

Removing the carbon price was one of the Coalition’s key policy platforms during the 2013 election.(You can read more about the Coalition's policy to remove the carbon price here.)

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (83% turnout) 25 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Nova Peris NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Lin Thorp Tasmania Yes
Mehmet Tillem Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (85% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Christopher Back WA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (85% turnout) 37 Yes – 27 No