The aye votes succeeded in dismissing a motion that called on the Abbott Government to release information and documents relating to asylum seekers arriving by boat. This was a vote proposed by Senator Hanson-Young.

Someone who votes aye in this division supports these measures. The majority voted aye in this amendment, so it was successful.

Summary of debate in Parliament

  • Green Senator Hanson-Young moved that information relating to 'illegal maritime arrivals', including any distress calls and the people on board, be presented to the Senate.
  • Liberal Senator Cash stated that the Abbott government would not support the motion. This is because the government does 'not run a shipping news service for people smugglers'. In addition, Senator Cash argued that 'Operation Sovereign Borders is a military-led border security operation' and reconfirmed that information relating to the policy and asylum seekers will only be announced in weekly briefings.
  • In response, Senator Hanson-Young stated that the Australian people deserve transparency with regards to this issue and criticised the Government, stating 'you are absolutely gutless in not putting on the table what is really going on'.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Nova Peris NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Lin Thorp Tasmania Yes
Mehmet Tillem Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President No
Liberal Party (85% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Christopher Back WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (81% turnout) 33 Yes – 28 No