The majority voted in favour of government amendments (1)-(3).(Read the discussion leading up to the division here. ) This means that they were successful.

The amendments relate to Commonwealth funded aged care and exclude this type of aged care from the exemption in the bill that allows religious organisations to discriminate on religious grounds. In other words, the amendments mean that religious organisations that provide Commonwealth funded age care cannot refuse to provide homosexual older people with their services. The purpose of the amendments is to ensure "the ability of older people to access aged care services without discrimination".(Read more about these amendments in their explanatory memorandum. )

Liberal Senator Sue Boyce rebelled in this division by crossing the floor and voting 'aye' with the Government.(Read more about what it means to rebel in our FAQ section. )

Background to the bill

This bill provides new protections against discrimination on the basis of a person’s sexual orientation, gender identity and intersex status.(Read more about the bill in its bills digest (352 KB).) It also provides protection against discrimination for same-sex de facto couples.


Votes Passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Sue Boyce voted Yes against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (83% turnout) 25 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Lin Thorp Tasmania Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Mark Furner Queensland Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (81% turnout) 1 Yes 21 No
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (86% turnout) 36 Yes – 29 No