The majority agreed with a motion that: "the committee does not insist on amendments to which the House of Representatives has disagreed and agrees to the amendments made by the House in the place of those amendments."(Read the discussion in the Senate on this motion here. )

In other words, the Senate will not insist on its amendments (numbers 2 and 4 to 13) and will agree to House amendments that were made in their place.(A list of these amendments is available here. ) This means that the bill will be passed in the Senate and can now become law.

The motion was moved by Labor Senator Stephen Conroy.

Debate in Parliament

When the bill was first considered in the Senate, the Senate agreed to two Government and eleven amendments moved by Senators Nick Xenophon, Bill Heffernan, John Madigan, Fiona Nash and Larissa Waters.(A list of all thirteen amendments agreed to in the Senate is available here. The division in which the eleven non-government amendments were agreed to is here. ) These amendments were then sent to the House of Representatives for their consideration.

The House agreed to two of the amendments and made eleven amendments in place of those they disagreed with.(Read the discussion in the House here. )

Background to the bill

The bill establishes an Independent Expert Scientific Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Coal Mining Development ('the Committee')(Read more about the Committee here. ) to provide federal, state and territory governments with scientific advice on coal seam gas and large coal mining developments which may have significant impacts on water resources.(See here for explanatory memoranda and proposed amendments.)


Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Christine Milne Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW Yes
Lin Thorp Tasmania Yes
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (26% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Christopher Back WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (20% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (53% turnout) 30 Yes – 10 No