The majority voted against a motion, which means it was rejected. It had been introduced by Liberal Senator Helen Kroger.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) Mr Michael Williamson’s recent roles as President of the Australian Labor Party (ALP), member of the ALP Industrial Committee, Executive Member of the Australian Council of Trade Unions, Vice President of Unions NSW, Vice President of the ALP New South Wales Branch and Trustee of First State Super, and

(ii) findings by Mr Ian Temby, QC and Mr Dennis Robertson, FCA that, while Mr Williamson was General Secretary of the Health Services Union (HSU) East Branch, he, his family, his company and his close associates benefitted from $20 million in union members’ funds which was spent without proper financial control;

(b) condemns this use of union members’ funds at the HSU by Mr Williamson as found by Mr Temby and Mr Robertson; and

(c) calls for stronger penalties under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009 than the present $6 600 monetary penalty and to include penalties under the Corporations Act 2001.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Australian Labor Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Bob Carr NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
John Faulkner NSW No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW No
Lin Thorp Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Jan McLucas Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (92% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Christopher Back WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Sean Edwards SA Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (88% turnout) 31 Yes – 35 No