This division relates to the Policy For a minerals resource rent tax.

The majority voted against a motion introduced by Senator Mathias Cormann that:

(1)   That the Senate notes that:

_ (a)   on 18 March 2012, the Prime Minister promised former Senator Bob Brown, then Leader of the Australian Greens, that the Government would publish monthly updates on revenue collections from the Minerals Resource Rent Tax (MRRT); and_

_ (b)   the MRRT legislation came into effect on 1 July 2012._

(2)   That there be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Treasurer, no later than noon on the 20th day of every month, information relating to the MRRT revenue collected by the Government in the preceding calendar month, broken down by state or territory of collection and by commodity type.

(3)   If the Senate is not sitting when a statement is ready for presentation, the statement is to be presented to the President in accordance with standing order 166.

(4)   This order is of continuing effect.

This means that the majority did not support requiring the government to provide monthly updates on the revenue collected by the MRRT.

Debate in Parliament

Senator Cormann said that "the government has been persistently avoiding scrutiny of their mining tax revenue estimates for the last two years".

Senator Jacinta Collins, speaking on behalf of the Labor Party, responded that "we will commit to publishing monthly updates on revenue collections for resource rent taxes and will be consulting the Australian Taxation Office on the best way that this can be achieved".

Background to the Motion

The minerals resource rent tax ('MRRT') began on 1 July 2012 and applies to profits earned from the extraction of mineral resources such as coal and iron ore.(For more detailed information on the MRRT, see the Australian Tax Office's MRRT website.)


Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
John Faulkner NSW No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW No
Lin Thorp Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (85% turnout) 22 Yes 0 No
Christopher Back WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Sean Edwards SA Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (84% turnout) 30 Yes – 33 No