The majority voted against a motion that a previous motion introduced by Senator Mathias Cormann may be put.

This means that there will be no vote on Senator Cormann's motion, which was:

That the Senate condemns the Labor Government for imposing the world's biggest carbon tax(By "carbon tax", Senator Cormann is referring to the carbon pricing mechanism, which will begin on 1 July 2012.) on the Australian economy at the worst possible time, when the Prime Minister (Ms Gillard) promised before the 2010 election that there would be no carbon tax under a government she leads and when it will:

(a) push up the cost of living;

(b) push up the cost of doing business;

(c) make Australia less competitive internationally;

(d) cost jobs;

(e) result in lower real wages and cause a cumulative reduction in Australia's gross domestic product in the order of $1 trillion between now and 2050, according to the Government's own Treasury modelling; and

(f) shift economic activity and emissions overseas, therefore doing nothing to help reduce global emissions.


Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Rachel Siewert WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Chris Evans WA No
Don Farrell SA No
John Faulkner NSW No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW No
Lin Thorp Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Absent
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Sean Edwards SA Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Christopher Back WA Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (76% turnout) 26 Yes – 32 No