The majority voted against a motion introduced by Liberal Party Senator Helen Kroger (Victoria), which means it was unsuccessful.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) Fair Work Australia’s investigation into the Health Services Union and the Member for Dobell (Mr Thomson) has taken an unreasonably long time,

(ii) the Member for Dobell expected Fair Work Australia to conduct its investigation within 6 months,

(iii) Australians have lost faith in Fair Work Australia to conduct itself in a quick and proper manner,

(iv) under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009, enacted by the then Minister for Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (Ms Gillard), the provisions for accountability and transparency are far less than the standard expected of company directors, and

(v) the Coalition has a plan for better accountability and transparency for registered organisations; and

(b) calls on the Government to adopt the Coalition’s plan for better accountability and transparency for registered organisations.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 0 Yes 6 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Penny Wright SA No
Rachel Siewert WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (90% turnout) 0 Yes 26 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
John Faulkner NSW No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Penny Wong SA No
Bob Carr NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Absent
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Christopher Back WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (80% turnout) 27 Yes – 32 No