The majority voted against a motion calling for the Government to take action "to reverse the decline of Australia's biodiversity".

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) 7 September was Threatened Species Day, and that this day in 2011 commemorated the 75th anniversary of the extinction of the thylacine (the Tasmanian tiger),

(ii) the global rate of species extinction is greater now than at any time in human history, and

(iii) Australia currently has 1 785 nationally threatened plant and animal species;

(b) agrees that:

(i) as one of the most biodiverse countries in the world, Australia has a special responsibility to protect our unique species, which are inherently precious and must be preserved for future generations, and

(ii) it is incumbent upon this generation to arrest the global decline of biodiversity; and

(c) calls on the Government to commit, in its upcoming reform package to the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, to reverse the decline of Australia's biodiversity, including by strengthening the Act to preclude the Minister from granting any approval that would push a species to a higher level of endangerment.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Mark Arbib NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
John Faulkner NSW No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Absent
Liberal Party (62% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Sean Edwards SA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Judith Adams WA Absent
Christopher Back WA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (76% turnout) 9 Yes – 48 No