The majority voted in favour of a motion to read the bill a third time.

This means that the bill is now passed in the Senate and, as it has already passed in the House of Representatives and so will now become law.

Background of the bill

This bill amends the Migration Act 1958 to enable the minister to refuse to grant, or to cancel, a visa or temporary safe haven visa when a person has been convicted of a criminal offence:

  • while in immigration detention
  • during an escape from immigration detention
  • following an escape from immigration detention, or
  • for escaping from immigration detention.

It also increases the penalty for the manufacture, possession, use or distribution of weapons by immigration detainees from three to five years imprisonment.

The bill was introduced in response to protests at the Christmas Island Immigration Centre in March 2011 and the Villawood Immigration Detention Centre in April 2011.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Bob Brown Tasmania No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Penny Wright SA No
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Mark Arbib NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite NSW Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Deputy President Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (41% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Judith Adams WA Yes
Christopher Back WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Mary Fisher SA Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Sean Edwards SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (68% turnout) 43 Yes – 9 No