The majority voted against a motion introduced by Liberal Senator Stephen Parry, which means it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That the Senate:

(a) deplores the inhumane treatment of cattle at some abattoirs in Indonesia;(Read more about about the conditions in Indonesian abattoirs on ABC here. )

(b) notes that this is unacceptable to all Australians, especially our farmers, who take great pride in breeding and raising healthy and well cared for animals;

(c) supports the suspension of trade of Australian live cattle to facilities that fail to comply with acceptable practices;(Learn more about the ban on live animal exports to Indonesia on Lateline.)

(d) notes, with concern, the impact of a total live exports suspension to Indonesia on:

(i) the economic, social and environmental fabric of northern Australia,

(ii) Indigenous employment in northern Australia,

(iii) Indonesian abattoirs already operating at acceptable standards, and

(iv) the entire cattle industry, including producers in the south who are already seeing reduced sale yard prices; and

(e) calls on the Gillard Government to:

(i) immediately establish a register of Indonesian abattoirs, to be known as the Approved Indonesian Abattoir Register, that have adopted and implemented acceptable animal welfare standards,

(ii) require that Australian sourced cattle be processed only at abattoirs that are listed on the register,

(iii) revoke the legislative instrument [Export Control (Export of Live-stock to the Republic of Indonesia) Order 2011 Export Control (Export of Live-stock to the Republic of Indonesia) Order 2011] on one or more Indonesian abattoirs being included on the register,

(iv) provide support to Indonesia to bring more abattoirs up to acceptable standards, and

(v) provide assistance to the cattle industry to deal with the consequences of this suspension.


Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Bob Brown Tasmania No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Arbib NSW Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (77% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Judith Adams WA Yes
Christopher Back WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Helen Kroger Victoria Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Nick Minchin SA Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Julian McGauran Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (80% turnout) 30 Yes – 31 No