The majority voted against a motion calling for the Government to consider the benefits of a fast transition for the economy to zero or low emissions, which means the motion failed.

Motion text

That the Senate:

(a) notes that a statement from a group of the world’s largest investors, representing US$15 trillion:

(i) calls for domestic and international policies to ‘unlock the vast benefits of low-carbon markets and avoid economic devastation caused by climate change’,

(ii) cites potentially 20 per cent losses to gross domestic product by 2050 if climate change goes unabated,

(iii) notes the benefits of both a carbon price and regulation in driving investment into renewable energy and other clean technologies, and

(iv) calls for emissions targets, strong and sustained price signals, energy and transportation policies, the phase out of fossil fuel subsidies, adaptation measures and corporate disclosure of climate risk to be implemented;

(b) applauds the moves by elements of Australian business to embrace the opportunities provided by ambitious climate action; and

(c) calls on the Government to consider the increasing benefits of swiftly transforming the economy for low to zero emissions.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Arbib NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President Absent
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (59% turnout) 6 Yes – 39 No