The majority voted against a motion that asked the Rudd Government to consider establishing a National Anti-Corruption and Integrity Commission, which means it failed.

The motion was introduced by Greens Senator Bob Brown.

Family First Senator Steve Fielding noted that there is already an Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity, known as ACLEI. However Senator Brown responded that:

ACLEI does not cover the bureaucracy at large. It does not cover the parliament and it does not cover the matters that the public would want to see it cover. Part of our proposal is a request to the government to expand the functions of that organisation so it does cover the areas that, for example, the crime and anticorruption commissions in Queensland, New South Wales and Western Australia.

Read the whole debate for more details.

Wording of the motion

That the Senate calls on the Rudd Government to consider the establishment of a National Anti-Corruption and Integrity Commission which has the powers of a standing Royal Commission and the purview to detect, investigate and prevent corruption across all Commonwealth departments and agencies, the activities of Federal Parliament, Federal parliamentarians and Federal law enforcement agencies.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Mark Arbib NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Jan McLucas Queensland Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (43% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Judith Adams WA No
Christopher Back WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
National Party (20% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (59% turnout) 6 Yes – 39 No